comtech banner

Integrating Markdown Into Your DITA 1.3 Pipeline

Sponsored by: CIDM and Comtech Services, Inc.
Presenter: Stanley Doherty, Ph.D., HPE SimpliVity (Secretary for the OASIS DITA Adoption Technical Committee)
Date: July 20, 2017 at 9am PDT | 12pm EDT | 5pm BST
Duration: 1 hour
This is a free webinar.
Register Now!

Abstract

The OASIS DITA Adoption TC is pleased to announce Stan Doherty's presentation on Integrating Markdown Into Your DITA 1.3 Pipeline. Stan will provide a step-by-step tutorial on how to supplement an out-of-the-box DITA 1.3 deployment with the software, templates, and processing logic required to author and integrate Markdown-encoded topics alongside your DITA topics and maps. Stan will cover the following topics:

  • Downloading and installing the JAVA SDK (required for the DITA Open Toolkit).
  • Downloading and installing the DITA Open Toolkit.
  • Installing and testing Jarno Elovirta's Markdown parser for the DITA Open Toolkit.
  • Developing a test domain to explore your options for authoring and integrating Markdown content.
  • Best practices for encouraging engineers to participate in this Markdown-to-DITA workflow.


Presenters

Stan Doherty lives in the Boston area and works as a technical publications manager and Agile Product Owner at HPE SimpliVity. He participates as a voting member of the OASIS DITA Technical Committee, serves as secretary for the OASIS DITA Adoption Technical Committee, and supports companies in New England considering DITA. Feel free to contact Stan if you are considering DITA, DITA tools, and DITA-aware CCMSs.




Copyright © 2017 Comtech Services, Inc..